“Celebrate! Award”

Celebrate Nomination Form

Congratulations to the Celebrate! 2019 winners Sharon Herman & Samantha Gross.









Celebrate grants awarded – youth Celebrate winner Samantha Gross, designated a $500 Watertown Area Community Foundation grant to WHS Peer Helpers/Project Success. Pictured with her is Wendy Olson, coordinator. Adult winner Sharon Herman designated a $500 WACF grant to Watertown Area Special Olympics in Jenny Lake’s honor and a $500 grant to the Watertown Volunteer Center. From left, are Jan DeBerg, WACF executive director; Lake, a Special Olympics athlete; Herman, and Char Torgerson, Volunteer Center director. The Celebrate! Award, sponsored by WACF, annually recognizes both an adult and youth outstanding volunteer. The winners are entitled to award a $1,000 WACF grant and $500 WACF grant, respectively, to a local nonprofit.

Sharon Herman won the 2019 Celebrate! Outstanding Volunteer of the Year award. Her volunteering is a year-round job. Sharn has 2,383 of volunteering hours. Herman is now entitled to designate a $1,000 WACF grant to a local nonprofit. Presenting the certificate was Jan DeBerg, left, executive director of the Watertown Area Community Foundation; and Char Torgerson, director of the Watertown Volunteer Center, who nominated Herman and Sharon Herman in the center.

Samantha Gross was named the Celebrate! 2019 Outstanding Youth Volunteer of the Year. She was nominated by the Salvation Army where she has volunteered the past few years. Gross is now entitled to designate a $500 Foundation grant to a local charity. From left are Julie Gallisath, mother of Gross; Samantha Gross, Celebrate! Outstanding Youth Volunteer of the Year; Capt. Karissa Zumwalt of the Salvation Army who nominated Gross and Jan DeBerg, WACF executive director.